NANOWRIMO DEVOTIONS

NaNoWriMo devotions

November 1, 2015

I’m in the back bedroom: the back room closet is now clear; the stuff is listed in the Facebook Yard sales; the writing area has been set up: outlining reminders, laptop, results of research, hints of ideas, and devotional area.

It is 5:30 AM. I am wearing blue jeans, T-shirt, even a bra! Coffee, juice, animal crackers have accompanied me as I begin this solitary occupation for this month.

House is quiet–too quiet, maybe–I’m not used to being able to concentrate. Yeah, I find myself delaying, procrastinating, hindered by trepidation. I know I have the grammar skills; I’ve done the research; I know the skeleton of the story; but fear assails me.

What if I prove I cannot write? When I was actively involved years ago with the Copiah Writers Group, I thought that everyone else wrote better than I. Do I believe in me or in the story enough to begin the work?

I turn to God’s word, The Message. I read some from John 14 and15, and my attention is centered on the last verse in John 14: “Get up. Let’s go. It’s time to leave here.”

Oh, Lord, I feel humbled by your mercy in waking me early, giving me this verse. I sin in not turning to your words more often. Yet, when I do, you give me a fresh word. Forgive me, dear Savior, and guide my steps this day. Amen

(Accomplishment for day: transferring work into Novlr, checking out submission to other eBook sources of “That’s What Friends are For,” writing of physical description of Houston, working on computer problem. I do no real writing with reason being that it is Sunday. As I watch the Saints beat the New York Giants, I tear apart old jeans to be cut into quilt squares and rectangles.)

November 2, 2015

Today, again, God has shown me a verse I need to hear from The Message: in John 4, Jesus is talking about parables In answer to his disciples’ questions. The message uses the word “story” for parable, and it applies to me as a writer: “You’ve been given insight into God’s kingdom– you know how it works. But to those who can’t see it yet, everything comes in stories, creating readiness, nudging them toward receptive insight.”

Wow, Lord, wow!   My words fail me; you answer me before I even ask the question. The demon of non-writing had whispered in my ear that my words, that my story did not even matter, it would not serve your purposes. Before I even spoke the words aloud, you answered. I worship you today, oh, mighty God, and heavenly Father. What a great God we serve; you are the provider, JEHOVAH JIREH. Please grant me today that the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be serving unto you. May my purpose be to nudge others to the receptive insight they need. Grow me today, Lord. Amen

November 3, 2015

Tuesday, day 2 of NaNoWriMo, and I was well distracted. I ended up sleeping in the living room after one a.m., read myself back to sleep. Today was general election, and errands to the bank and insurance office, pick up lunch from Red Barn, home, some computer work in living room because I was hoping to fall asleep to nap. Michael Bowman had planned to stop by, so we delayed getting into the pool. Finally did, then change clothes, supper, look for pool heater for warranty. Found part of materials needed, then sat and fell asleep.

We received an email from Tiffany at the church stating that Brenda C. is fighting off an infection and is in need of prayer.   Elizabeth’s sister Marie was buried over the weekend. Glenda S. died last week. We have reached the age where funeral visitations are a social occasion.

I hurried through a Bible reading from The Message, and God’s Word does not fail. From 2 Corinthians 13, two verses stand out: “Don’t drift along taking everything for granted. Give yourself regular checkups.” and “We don’t just put u with our limitations; we celebrate them, and then go onto celebrate every strength, every triumph.”

The regular checkups have more to do with our spiritual condition, but I think this is also a reminder of how precious life is and how thankful I am to be. Yes, I am limited; we all are, but not hindered from doing our best with whatever our limitations are.

Oh, Lord God, your Word calls us to the end of ourselves, and we can only worship you. I do pray for so many who are struggling for life itself. May your presence be constant with them and those who wait upon them. My heart is burdened for those who are going through loss of a loved one, and I pray you walk beside them and comfort them. AMEN

One thought on “NANOWRIMO DEVOTIONS

Leave a Reply

